58 members, including 33 Progressive Conservatives and 25 Liberals, elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years.

The Premier receives \$25,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. Each Cabinet Minister is paid \$16,000; each member of the Legislative Assembly receives \$8,000 and a \$2,500 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$16,000. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker are paid \$5,000 and \$2,500, respectively, in addition to the regular indemnity.

The Executive Council of New Brunswick in January 1977

Premier, Hon. Richard Hatfield

- Provincial Secretary and Minister of Justice, Hon. Paul S. Creaghan
- Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Hon. G.W.N. Cockburn

Minister of Finance, Hon. Lawrence Garvie Chairman of Treasury Board, Hon. Jean

Maurice Simard

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Omer Léger Minister of Supply and Services, Hon.

- Harold Fanjoy
- Minister of Transportation, Hon. Wilfred Bishop

Minister of Agriculture and Rural

Development, Hon. Malcolm MacLeod Minister of Health, Hon. Brenda Robertson Minister of Social Services, Hon. Leslie Hull Minister of Labour and Manpower, Hon.

Rodman E. Logan

Minister of Education, Hon. Charles Gallagher

Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Horace B. Smith

Minister of Commerce and Development, Hon. Gerald S. Merrithew

Minister of Youth, Recreation and Cultural Resources, Hon. Jean-Pierre Ouellet

Minister of Tourism and Environment, Hon. Fernand Dubé.

Quebec

In Quebec, legislative and executive powers are vested in the National Assembly and the Executive Council. As the representative of the Crown, the Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Hugues Lapointe, plays a role in the functioning of both branches.

The National Assembly consists of 110 members elected for a maximum term of five years. Party standings in January 1977, following the general election of November 15, 1976, were as follows: Parti Québécois 71, Liberals 26, Union nationale 11, Ralliement des créditistes, one, and Independent, one.

All members receive an annual indemnity of \$24,500 and a tax-free representation allowance of \$7,000. In addition, the Executive Council Act and the Legislative Assembly Act provide for additional taxable allowances for the Prime Minister (\$36,750), ministers (\$26,950), ministers without portfolio (\$24,500), the Speaker of the National Assembly (\$26,950), deputy speakers (\$12,250), parliamentary assistants (\$7,350), the Leader of the official Opposition (\$26,950), leaders of other recognized parties (\$11,025), the House Leader of the official Opposition (\$11,025), house leaders of other recognized parties (\$9,080), Chief Government Whip (\$11,025), Chief Whip of the official Opposition (\$7,350), whips of other recognized parties and deputy whips (\$6,125) and the chairmen of elected commissions (\$3,675). Internal regulations also provide for allowances for specified travelling by a member, for maintaining an office in his constituency and for a second residence in Quebec in cases where the member represents a riding outside the capital area.

Members of the Executive Council of Quebec in January 1977

Minister of Finance and Revenue Minister,
Hon. Jacques Parizeau

Minister of State for Cultural Development, Hon. Camille Laurin

- Minister of State for Social Development, Hon. Pierre Marois
- Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. Claude Morin

Prime Minister, Hon. René Lévesque Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of

Education, Hon. Jacques-Yvan Morin House Leader and Minister of State for

Parliamentary Reform, Hon. Robert

Burns

Minister of State for Economic Development, Hon. Bernard Landry 3.3.1.5

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Roland Boudreau